Kuji Kiri

Kuji Kiri
Tenshimitsu 2005-04-10 20:07 5
Kuji-in techniques

Kuji-in is the spiritual and mental strength the ninja possessed in the form of hand signs. These hand signs were believed to be able to channel energy. The hand signs were taken from the practices of the early Buddhists.
The Kuji-in was used to build confidence and strength in the ninja. It was also believed to enhance the senses of danger and foresee death for the user.

In Kuji-in the thumb represents the source of power (Ku), and the fingers represent the four elemental manifestations. They are Chi (earth - solids), Sui (water - liquids), Ka (fire - combustion) and Fu (wind - gases).

There are 81 hand symbols in total, but there are 9 primary ones: Rin, Kyo, Toh, Sha, Kai, Jin, Retsu, Zai, and Zen. Each symbol invokes different strengths and abilities in a trained ninja.
Rin brings strength to the mind and body; Kyo generates psychic power in order to mask one's presence; Toh enables the ninja to reach a balance between the solid and liquid states of the body, which leads to a greater harmony with the universe; Sha is used to heal oneself or another; Kai gives complete control over the body's functions, enabling one to slow the heart rate, endure extreme heat and cold, etc.
Jin increases the mind's telepathic powers, giving a highly trained Ninja the ability to read the character of another; Retsu gives telekinetic powers, enabling a ninja to stun an opponent with a shout or touch.
Zai extends the harmony gained by merging with the universe. Zen brings enlightenment and understanding.
These symbols take an entire lifetime to truly master.

Rin! Kyo!
Rin. Invokes physical strength.
Kyo. Helps to direct Etheric energy.
Toh! Sha!
Toh. Invokes balance between
Yin and Yang.
Sha. This sign should helps with healing.
Kai! Jin!
Kai Invokes premonition.
(When someone is around you)
Jin. Lets you read the thoughts of others.
Retsu! Zai!
Retsu. Invokes mastery of time and space.
Zai. Invokes control over others.

Zen. This one should help you to reach enlightenment

See also: "Jutsu types and Attack styles", "Perfect Gentleman"

Kuji-Kiri means nine cuts or nine words.
This is a very common technique, which is used in different traditions in Japan. The nine cuts create an energetic grid, which can be adapted to almost any purpose.

A downward cut separates good from bad and this is also used in Misogi (A sort of purification).
Imagine your right hands index and middle finger as a blade, keep them inside your left hand to to hold energy, until used. Then cut downwards four times and five times sideways and name the nine Kuji one by one with each cut.

Kuji hand-signs


  1. Vejimitsu
    How to become a real Yoshimitsu :) (Muahahahahah)

    2011-02-21 19:44
  2. Hey, this is what Raven did in T5

    2010-07-24 22:13
  3. This was in Tekken 5 when Yoshimitsu intrudes

    2010-04-16 21:18
  4. wow! you can be a real ninja with this!!

    2009-05-02 16:06
  5. Avatar

    this is so cool...this site is a guide how to become a real ninja hehe but i don't know how to make Kyo maybe my fingers are too small :) lol

    2005-06-17 08:49

Only registered users can post new comments